Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 10-11-2019, 06:26 PM

Default Pork fat to ground venison?

First time butchering my own deer and have a couple of questions. Already wrapped some in waxed paper and froze it but wondering (after watching Meateater) if i should have wrapped it in cling wrap then paper? Also when i went to get some pork fat at the local butcher he apologized for not having "the pork fat i was looking for" but pork fat trimmings with small bits of meat attached. Can i just trim these of the meat and grind it in with the venison or should it be rendered down first? Thanks in advance.
Old 10-11-2019, 06:37 PM

Personally I would just grind your pork trimmings with the fat and your deer meat. No need to throw it away in my mind?
Lots of people like using bacon ends too.

I’ve never used cling wrap before when packaging meat, but I have used butcher paper that came in individual sheets with a plastic liner sort of deal?
Old 10-11-2019, 06:40 PM

I don't mix any fat to my game meat. It's not needed.
Old 10-11-2019, 06:40 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tool View Post
Personally I would just grind your pork trimmings with the fat and your deer meat. No need to throw it away in my mind?
Lots of people like using bacon ends too.

I’ve never used cling wrap before when packaging meat, but I have used butcher paper that came in individual sheets with a plastic liner sort of deal?
Butcher paper is wax lined.

"Me neither but it's all in the eye of the beer holder"
norwestalta

.....out of bounds.....but funny none the less!

LC

"Funny how when a bear eats another bear, no one bats an eye, but......

when a human eats another human, people act like it's the end if the friggin world. News coverage, tweets, blogs, outrage, Piers Morgan etcetc.

Go figure." -Huntinstuff
Old 10-11-2019, 06:44 PM