Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 05-29-2011, 11:54 PM

Default Hoping to get started on hunting.

Hi, I have been very interested in hunting for the past to years and i've watched countless hours of hunting footage and read magazines and been reading many of the very interesting posts on this forum.

So I decided that maybe I should get into hunting.. So i asked my father (seeing as im only fifteen) about it and he said i should star now.
He hunted many years ago but didn't think his advice would be of much help and none of my friends or family hunt...

So how do i get into hunting.... I plan to sign up for the online AHEIA course and course within the week. But where do i go from there. Am i old enough to get a hunting License? Do i need any other licences?

I have lots of outdoors experience and spend lots of time hiking and mountain biking throughout the summer. But... i have never shot a gun.. I don't know if thats a problem either...

Thanks,
Ryan
Old 05-30-2011, 01:45 AM

get your course done, get a win card, you are lucky you can get youth tags for for alot cheaper than you'll pay once you hit 18.
most fish & game clubs are sending kids to camps this summer that would help but your running out of time on that, but go to a meeting or 2 and sombody will show you the ropes like going to a gun range. If you're around Camrose I'd be happy to help you get started.
Old 05-30-2011, 08:23 AM
Gone Hunting

I believe AHEIA had a "mentorship program" at one time where they would provide some special help for young hunters like yourself. They would help them to the point of taking them out to bow hunt deer in some special areas (Edm airport property and power plant property near Wabamun lake).

Contact them to see if you can get involved in it.

Good luck to you and welcome to the hunting brotherhood.

Archery Sept. 1 - Oct. 31 Muzzleloader and Crossbow Oct. 1 - Oct. 31 Rifle Nov. 25 - Nov. 30