Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 07-07-2023, 03:06 PM

Default Dumb question

My background is in health administration, and if we were having a death per day from any disease, Lassa fever, Aids, Syphilis, yellow fever etc. Heaven and earth would be moved to get it under control. All I see with this opioid crisis is arguing over the stats, how many are dyeing.

Who are the victims and why is the response so tepid?

Where are the drugs coming from? Are we trying our best to stop it?

I'm sure our younger members will just shake their heads but in my generation (very old) I don't know any victims.

Thx.
Old 07-07-2023, 03:15 PM

True.

So sad to see.

This is self inflicted wound. The doctors here in North America are responsible for prescribing almost 50% of the world's opioid drugs to a population of less than 2%. (we prescribe 25 times the amount of drugs compared to any other country here in Canada and the US).

I also believe this is precisely why there are so many mass shootings - it's not because of guns - it's because of drugs and mental health issues.

Sad.
Old 07-07-2023, 03:16 PM

My own theory is the criminals that were growing and selling pot that have been put out of business started selling hard drugs.
Old 07-07-2023, 03:19 PM

I'll dip my toe in. I know this can be a sensitive topic and everyone has their own story, but I feel the generalization is that it's self induced. Kind of like how people have more sympathy for the 5 year old who is killed in a car accident than the victims on the Titan.
Old 07-07-2023, 03:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trochu View Post
I'll dip my toe in. I know this can be a sensitive topic and everyone has their own story, but I feel the generalization is that it's self induced. Kind of like how people have more sympathy for the 5 year old who is killed in a car accident than the victims on the Titan.
I think you got the whole leg in there...