Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 06-14-2017, 06:29 AM

Default Recommend me a front rest for bench shooting

I am currently using Cabela's sand bags. I have to squeeze the front bag for minor elevation changes. A real PITA as anyone that has used bags must know. As with any product I am sure their are poor, better and best models out there. I am thinking I will continue using a sand bag for the rear rest.

Would this be a good quality rest? https://www.ebay.com/p/Be1005-Bald-E...num/1012250981

Thomas Sowell

Last edited by pikergolf; 06-14-2017 at 06:47 AM.
Old 06-14-2017, 06:52 AM

I've been using this Hopps rest for 30 years its all I need, easy to adjust for elevation and solid. I use wood blocks under my back sand bag for different rifles.

[IMG][/IMG]
Old 06-14-2017, 07:09 AM

I just ordered a scinclair rest of brownells yesterday, heard lots of good things about it, will reort back when it arrives
Old 06-14-2017, 11:49 AM

You want tight groups get a Sinclair rest and edgewood bags.
Old 06-14-2017, 12:17 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smokinyotes View Post
You want tight groups get a Sinclair rest and edgewood bags.
Out of my budget.

Thomas Sowell
Old 06-14-2017, 02:09 PM

Not sure what your budget is but I've been using a Caldwell Rock BR rest. Don't confuse it with Caldwell's "The Rock" rest that's sold at Cabela's for $150 because it's a step up from that one.
I bought mine 3 years ago and it was right around the $225 CAD mark plus taxes, shipping was free from Amazon. I got it from Amazon because I couldn't find one locally and they had the best online price at the time. I've found it to be a very nice rest. Easy to set up and easy to adjust. It has fine adjust features for both elevation and windage. Rest is also very solid once everything is tightened down.

Old 06-14-2017, 02:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deezel View Post