Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 04-21-2016, 09:48 PM

Default winter kill?

Read this news clip, is this a big deal?....or is it just media making news out of old news?

I'm new to the fishing scene.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/edmont...lake-1.3547422
Old 04-22-2016, 12:15 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by gotcha10oz View Post
Read this news clip, is this a big deal?....or is it just media making news out of old news?

I'm new to the fishing scene.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/edmont...lake-1.3547422
It's a big deal and not old news at all. If you do a bit of searching on here you will find lots of information, I am not the best source so I won't even try.
Old 04-22-2016, 08:19 AM

I read the article and it seams like aeration or lack there of is to blame. Winter kill isn't a new thing but this sounds like the new law to do with aeration is to blame.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 04-22-2016, 08:57 AM

Lots of other threads you can find more information in. For summary though.

The law states if you create a hole through the ice then you are liable if someone falls in it. The law isn't new, it is decades old but last year for whatever reason ACA became more aware about it.

They decided to remove existing aeration equipment and replace with new equipment that wasn't supposed to cause open water. They were misinformed and the new equipment was still causing open water so they then shut them off or reduced their effectiveness so there would be no open water(just thin ice which imo is even more dangerous...).

Almost all of the lakes with these new aerators and some of the ones that didn't get new aerators died off either completely or at least partially.