Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Trapping Discussion

Old 03-03-2011, 10:44 AM

Default Rusty Traps

I am new to the trapping world and i have just got some traps. A lot of them are rusted up so here is my question, i read into soaking them in vinegar and water to take the rust off but then they go on to say to dye/wax 1 week after some rust kicks back in. I wont be using these anytime soon so i want to remove the rust but do i have to dye or wax them right away after or can i do this at a later date? Or should i just take them to a wire brush or sandblaster. They are mostly conibear body grips and a few leg holds. Any info would be great! Thanks
Old 03-03-2011, 11:04 AM

If you don't need them in foreseeable future why bother. I usually do all adjustments of pans and triggers prior to my final dye and wax just so I am not doing adjustments after treating.
Old 03-03-2011, 11:29 AM
Banned

a sand blaster works pretty quick
Old 03-03-2011, 01:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwbirds View Post
If you don't need them in foreseeable future why bother. I usually do all adjustments of pans and triggers prior to my final dye and wax just so I am not doing adjustments after treating.
HMMM because i want to what does it matter? I would rather look at a pile of nice looking traps than a pile of rusted ones which stain clothes and covers you hands everytime you touch them. As i said i am new and learning this stuff and would be nice to know for when or if i get the chance to use them. I am just learning how to set them and am farting around with them and i would rather not be covered in rust. But thanks for the tips
Old 03-03-2011, 01:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by fish_e_o View Post
a sand blaster works pretty quick
Thanks i may go this way then
Old 03-03-2011, 06:14 PM
Gone Hunting

I wouldn't remove the rust.

I would tie the chains together on several, forming a manageable bundle.