Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 10-17-2007, 08:49 PM

Default Bench Rests

I am in the market for a good bench rest and was wondering what everyone uses as I have no experience with them and where is a good place to pick one up and approx cost.

Thanks
Old 10-18-2007, 07:51 AM

I use the Benchmaster. Got mine at Russel's or Wholesale.
Old 10-18-2007, 08:26 AM

I have a bench master also
I find it alright but not the best
the strap in the back was causin my muzzel to flip up under recoil
and i find the ears on the rear stock part to get under my cheek sometimes and ouch ,,,still fiddlin with it,,
had to clean up the treads on mine they werent very smooth in the movements .
over all its better than nothin and makes a great rest for workin on guns
Old 10-18-2007, 12:32 PM

Benchmaster as well. Wholesale, Russel and Can Tire (on Southland drive in Calgary) all stock them.
Seems to be the most popular model i've seen out at the range.

Chuck Norris and Mr. T walked into a bar. The bar was instantly destroyed, as that level of awesome cannot be contained in one building
Old 10-18-2007, 02:44 PM

I use the Benchmaster as well but needed to do a farmer fix it on the front bag. Be sure it's secure or you'll lose it in transport.
Old 10-18-2007, 04:28 PM

I picked up a Caldwell this Summer. The one with a built in tray that you can load up with weight to reduce felt recoil. Nice for sighting in bigger stuff, and works as advertised. Adjustment is pretty much elevation only. I think they go for about 150. I think I actually prefer using the old sand filled shooting bags once everything is dialed in. Cheaper too.
Old 10-18-2007, 04:49 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by .30cal View Post
I think I actually prefer using the old sand filled shooting bags once everything is dialed in. Cheaper too.