Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 04-05-2020, 10:34 PM

Default Making a change

I’ve been thinking for a while now that I need to do something different for work. I’m a jman plumber and I’ve owned my business for the last 5 years. The stress is absolutely killing me. The business itself has done pretty ok the stress isn’t money it’s dealing with people and employees and all those issues. It’s been affecting my family life.

So I started thinking a few weeks ago about what else I could do and decided at the age of 35 I’m going back to university to become a teacher. I’ve had a few friends do it later in life and they all say it was the best decision they ever made.

I’ve always enjoyed teaching and I think this would be a good fit. It’s not awesome money but it’s a decent living with good benefits and pension. My worry is if I don’t do it now I’ll be 40 or 45 and then it really is too late. If the economy is gonna go to crap it might not be a bad time to go to school and let it recover. Anyone else ever made a major career change later in life? Was it a good idea or do you regret doing it?
Old 04-05-2020, 10:37 PM

A teacher? In this reality? I’d pick another.

Marshall McLuhan
Old 04-05-2020, 10:40 PM

My friend went to med school at 50

He's a darn good doctor!

You can do it, but start right now
Old 04-05-2020, 10:41 PM

Good for you.
I am an electrician, I've been on the tools for 20 years. In 2009 I took a hiatus from work and went to LA with a rock band hoping to make it big. We were there for seven months, played about 60 shows and made a lot of friends. We did not make it big. We came back to Canada and I still had my ticket to fall back on. That never expires.
All the best.
Old 04-05-2020, 10:49 PM

Default Nope