Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 04-05-2020, 08:05 PM

Default Youth Rifle

My 12 year old son just passed his hunter training course and I was looking for recommendations for what Cal. I should be looking at for his Rifle? Thanks
Old 04-05-2020, 08:08 PM

Depending on what he's going to hunt, 7mm-08 works pretty good with mild recoil.

Remember all the .22 practice in between.

You can, you should, & if you're brave enough to start, you will. Stephen King
Old 04-05-2020, 08:29 PM

.243 is a fairly decent round with low recoil round usually. But just about any rifle will work. I would recomend a savage axis 11/111 in .270. that's what I got my son.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 04-05-2020, 08:30 PM

For deer sized game and under, a .243 is a great first rifle. It is every bit as good as the over rated, "as a hunting cartridge" Creedmore, at least up to 300 yards. As a beginner, I doubt he will be shooting beyond that distance, or in my opinion shouldn't be. It is very important not to over recoil a young shooter. It is so easy to acquire a flinch and so difficult to get rid of it. I also agree the 7-08 would also be a good choice as would be a 25.06.
Old 04-05-2020, 08:37 PM

Default youth rifle

I agree that 7mm-08 seems great for a new youth hunter. However, I cast a vote for 6.5x55. This was my son's first caliber, and he killed a lot of game with it, without noticing any recoil. There is MUCH less choice in factory ammo selection, however.
If you can find a rifle that suits in 7mm-08, get it, but think about the Swede!

Plus, its more than 100 years old....
Vance
Old 04-05-2020, 08:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by roper1 View Post
Depending on what he's going to hunt, 7mm-08 works pretty good with mild recoil.

Great advice Roper, to shoot well, one needs to shoot as much as possible.