Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 06-22-2012, 11:19 PM

Default Scale for weighing brass?

So I have a beam scale to weigh charges.
It's a pain to weigh brass.
Looking for something cost effective to weigh brass.
I will most likely weigh powder too.
Just looking for recommendations.
“My rifle … this is my rifle. There are many like it, but this one is mine. My rifle is my friend … I must master it as I must master my life. My rifle without me is useless … I will learn its strengths and weaknesses, its parts, its accessories, its sights, and its barrel. I will keep it clean and ready, we will become part of each other … before God, I swear this creed.” General William H. Rupertus
Old 06-22-2012, 11:20 PM

Why do you need to weigh brass?
Old 06-22-2012, 11:36 PM

I should have elaborated a bit. I'm new to reloading, and just curious how weighing brass would affect your results.
Old 06-22-2012, 11:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris89lx View Post
So I have a beam scale to weigh charges.
It's a pain to weigh brass.
Looking for something cost effective to weigh brass.
I will most likely weigh powder too.
Just looking for recommendations.
Weighing brass to check for capacity uniformity is not really addressing capacity. If you want uniform brass and it happens to be in a cartridge that Lapua makes spend the money. Weighing brass doesn't take into account variation in extractor grooves and case length. I check my volumes with tiny stainless balls (tumbling media). Fill them to base of neck. Then check for neck thickness run out. If necks show run out the full length of the case will have run out and that case will curl towards the thick side when fired.

I use an electronic scale for all my loading. I use a beam scale to keep the electronic scale honest.
Old 06-22-2012, 11:58 PM

All my brass is Federal Premium.