Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 02-23-2008, 11:34 PM

Default Affordable bow for hunting?

Hey Guys

I'm pretty new to bowhunting, and I'm looking to buy a bow this year. My buddy tells me that newer ones are far improved on older models, and I should consider a newer one. Any suggestions for how to get a good compound bow without spending an arm and a leg?

Thanks for any recommendations!!

Moults
Old 02-23-2008, 11:47 PM

Moults, I'd hit the shops first and play with as many different brands and models as possible until you find something the you like. Then check out the buy/sell page on this site as well as the many other sites like this one. With a bit of legwork, you might get really lucky. Good luck!

Tree
Old 02-24-2008, 01:44 AM
Hoochie Papa

I agree with Tree Guy. There are some smoking deals on newer bows here. And no worries about the condition it's in.
Old 02-25-2008, 11:28 AM

Sounds great; thanks guys. I'm pumped to get into bowhunting. An entirely new element of challenge from rifle hunting. Talk to you later!

Moults
Old 02-25-2008, 11:51 AM

Default cheap bows

My wife picked up a pse firstorm lite for 429 clams off of e bay, it is brand new and came with all accesories, including arrows, It is not the fastest bow, but they are very sweet to shoot, when I first seen it I thought it was a kids bow, it is aprox 30 inch long, weighs in at a wopping 3.3 pounds, It felt diffrent at first but I am used to my old Pearson striker wich I bought new 15 years ago. She bought from american archery, we looked at a bunch of shops in alberta, but I got tired of them trying to sell me a 1000 dollar setup, shop around and make sure you get what you want.
Old 02-25-2008, 11:58 AM

Most of the price of a bow is the accessories.

There are $400 bows and $900 bows. What you get for the money usually is a smoother, quieter, faster bow that has a more refined feel.