Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 10-13-2016, 09:46 PM

Question Iced Rod Guides

I was out of the river today and was having issue casting when I noticed my first few guides were iced almost solid, needless today it makes it hard to cast.

I was just curious if anyone had any tricks to slow the icing? I was thinking maybe Rem-DriLube Spray?

I am just worried about chemicals damaging the line prematurely.

Maybe its just something fly fishermen deal with, this is my first year fishing when the water is apparently below freezing.

What do you use? Or do you just break it off every few casts?
Old 10-13-2016, 10:33 PM

I break it off as it forms. Gives me something to do as I'm usually not catching many fish when it's below zero...
Old 10-14-2016, 02:21 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by millsboy79 View Post
I was out of the river today and was having issue casting when I noticed my first few guides were iced almost solid, needless today it makes it hard to cast.

I was just curious if anyone had any tricks to slow the icing? I was thinking maybe Rem-DriLube Spray?

I am just worried about chemicals damaging the line prematurely.

Maybe its just something fly fishermen deal with, this is my first year fishing when the water is apparently below freezing.

What do you use? Or do you just break it off every few casts?
Active avoid collecting wet line. Your guides will only freeze if the line is wet. If you are nymphing---user shorter casts, and more weight to ensure your fly gets into the strike zone. If you are swinging streamers, some stripping is inevitable. I find the temperature has to be above 4C (at the airport) to avoid significant icing of the guides at the river.