Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 03-19-2016, 01:20 PM

Default Deer Hunting 101

looking for some help finding information of the basics of deer hunting .
Most specifically looking for videos ( or books ) but would much prefer videos .

Have kind of gone through Amazon, Chapters , and looked around a BP , WSS, Cab, etc , and of course youtube .

I`m guessing that there are a lot of places to look that I have no knowledge of , hence the thread .

I am looking/hoping for something that gets right down to the beginner basics, in all aspects from start to finish , that pertains to our neck of the woods .
( I found what I thought to be a good book , and although a lot of it was good , it was American and talked a lot about trees and bushes that we don't have around here ) .

Kind of like if an experienced hunter( while not hunting ) was wearing a go-pro for example and narrating as he walked through the bush , pointing out multiple examples of rubs and scraps , and bedding areas and game trails , and feeding areas etc . even being over redundit in fact . I rather hear too much of something I know , than not enough of something I don`t.

I am the type that needs a book in my hands or screen that I can go again and again , until it makes sense to me .

I have read lots of advice etc on here , but its all over the place , and trying to find some of it again its very time consuming etc.( yes , even if I mark or tag it or whatever )

This coming season is number 4 , and although I got close to pulling the trigger last year , I still have not harvested a deer. And yes , I realize that its may take some time .

A large part of my problem , is simply not having enough time for really scouting around and actually hunting ( hunting has only been 1,2,or 3 two day trips out into the crown land west of Sundre , and scouting is about the same.