Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 10-01-2020, 09:57 PM

Default First time moose hunting

I have an undersubscribed moose tag for 536 in November. I have never hunted moose but plan on giving it a whirl. I find it odd that there are still undersubscribed tags left....anyone have any info on a possible reason why for this area lol. I know there are people hunting in the area but many hunt the oil roads. My plan is to actually go in the woods lol. Any advice that may be helpful gladly accepted lol. I have been you tubing calling. Gonna be practicing in the truck on my way to and from work for the next month lol.
Old 10-01-2020, 09:59 PM

The undersubscribed tags are usually due to very limited access to the area.
Old 10-01-2020, 10:12 PM

Has anyone had moose success in 536? What’s your game plan? Hope for snow and bring snowmobile to cover ground? Looks kinda neat on google earth. If it stays warm bring a bear tag. I bet there’s some giants out there. Wolves too
Old 10-01-2020, 11:48 PM
Gone Hunting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter3006 View Post
I have an undersubscribed moose tag for 536 in November. I have never hunted moose but plan on giving it a whirl. I find it odd that there are still undersubscribed tags left....anyone have any info on a possible reason why for this area lol. I know there are people hunting in the area but many hunt the oil roads. My plan is to actually go in the woods lol. Any advice that may be helpful gladly accepted lol. I have been you tubing calling. Gonna be practicing in the truck on my way to and from work for the next month lol.
That WMU is hunted heavily by Dene Tha' from Bushe River, Chateh and Meander plus oilfield workers from High Level and Rainbow lake.

Anywhere with access is pretty much void of Moose.