Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Trapping Discussion

Old 01-25-2017, 07:02 PM

Default for the first time ever I'm having foot holds dug up.. Whats wrong?

First time ever I'm having foot holds dug up. In the last week, probably 5 have been dug up by coyotes.

And for the first time ever, I have wolves walking my snowmobile trial, but turning around right before a burried trap.

I'm doing nothing different this year except I used FMJ trap dip. Previous years, I'd boil and wax, no dye or dip and I never had one dug up or a refusal.

Is it the FMJ?

Does anyone else use this stuff? It's frustrating because I can't pull all the traps and boil, wax and reset. It's just too much work right now.

I am setting from a new sled this year, but its clean.
Old 01-25-2017, 07:13 PM

Hey Bushmonkey, I'm by no means an expert on Wolves but if your traps are bedded solid they are smelling them. I have no experience with FMJ but if they are bedded proper it is definitely a scent issue.
Old 01-25-2017, 07:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by backwoods View Post
Hey Bushmonkey, I'm by no means an expert on Wolves but if your traps are bedded solid they are smelling them. I have no experience with FMJ but if they are bedded proper it is definitely a scent issue.
Ya I know they are smelling them lol..

I'd like to find someone else whose tried FMJ on foot holds and know what they experienced.

I am pretty sure I used it right?
Old 01-25-2017, 07:46 PM

I'll note too that the traps have been out for over 2 weeks, so even if it was scent from my hand it should have dissipated by now.
Old 01-25-2017, 07:59 PM

where and how do you store your traps. I have been leaving mine in the bush all summer. I hang them in the areas I use them under a big spruce and tie a bag around them to keep off most moisture. I don't do anything special when I set them. I do make sure I use a fresh roll of wax paper instead of just grabbing it from the kitchen the day I leave to use it....