Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 01-04-2015, 06:09 PM

Default Brand new to fly fishing

Hello all,

I am brand new to fly fishing. For Christmas, my father bought me a St croix 6 wt, 9 ft rod with reel and all the line/tippets and stuff. But zero tackle (flies)?

I also have a lesson bought with the fly fishing guide out of Canmore so I can learn the basics and what not. Basically, what I'm wondering, is what kind of flies streamers imitations I should invest in for fishing the waters around here. Any tricks on matching the hatch or what works best? I fish Minnewanka and Maligne religiously on my spincast, but I can't wait to dive right into fly fishing as I'm sure once I hook up a few times I'll be hooked myself.

I'll also obviously be fishing the bow the most as I am from Calgary. Any help and input here would be most appreciated!!
Thank you in advance.
Old 01-04-2015, 07:13 PM

If you google hatch charts various outfitters have guides on flys and when to use them Match the hatchets just a general guide .Country pleasures has a seminar on the bow on the 17 I believe on now River flys and how to fish them ect.also check out the fly fish Calgary forum lots of great info on there as well.
Old 01-04-2015, 07:28 PM
Banned

Yes check out match the hatch charts for AB.
Ask questions at your local stores.
Read online and learn.
In time you'll be answering the questions you are asking.
Time well spent will be your teacher.
And experiment is a good lesson.
Learning how to present the fly is of the utmost importance.
Learning casting skills is extremely important.
Utube can teach you plenty.
Old 01-04-2015, 07:54 PM