Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 03-17-2008, 05:14 PM

Default Who's playing it safe/Being reckless?

I am fairly new to reloading, but I pay very close attention to the data in the manuals, and always stop a little short of the max loads of powder advised. However, I have noticed that in a lot of cases for the same bullet/powder combination.. the bullet manufacturer and the powder manufactures data have some pretty wide discrepencies. For example.. I am reloading .303 British with Sierra 150 prohunters and 174 hpbt, with Varget in new Remington Brass. The Hodgson data shows a max load in both cases that is over 2 entire grains more than the Sierra data shows?!

Whos info would you consider more valid...and for what reasons? Thanks.
Old 03-17-2008, 05:28 PM

I follow my chrony, and case life. Remember even the test barrels used in load development differ in dimension and manufacture. Manuals mean nothing to me other than a guide line for what to use and where to start, the individual rifle will dictate where max pressures are (speed and case life)
Example is Abwhitetail, his 7-08 peaks out before reaching any published load for a given powder. The chrony says that his load 1.5grs. less than primer leaking, are giving velocities bang on gfor his bullet, and barrel lenght, that is his max load, not mine, not yours, but his(actually the rifles).
Get what I mean.

There are no absolutes
Old 03-17-2008, 05:31 PM

Both are valid for THEIR test equipment they used!
There are so many variables, that one cannot arbitrarily say that one manual is right and one wrong.

Different lots of powdrs, bullets, chmaber differences, sea level , ambiamet temperature, even the chronographs and strain guages used all come into play.
That is why it is always stated to start 10% lower and work up your charge...
Cat
Old 03-17-2008, 06:09 PM