Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 10-18-2023, 08:14 PM

Default How is the migration going?

I am new to duck hunting this season, but I have been going out at least once a week and loving it. I always go to the same place because there is always ducks there.

I am just wondering what the migration is like right now or what is it like generally? I don't know if I am seeing the full force of it or it hasn't started really yet? I just don't know.

Not really in a hurry to try elsewhere tbh, because like I said, there's always ducks where I go, not 100s, but enough for me and my buddy anyway
Old 10-18-2023, 09:28 PM

if you live enough years in Alberta, you will learn that the Northern Mallards will hold out up north as long as they can. They only need feed fields and open water.

A good blizzard in the Arctic, and snow in the Peace Country, will push down hundreds of thousands of ducks and geese.

In the mean time we are shooting alot of local birds that are slowly filtering south.

But there is a big wave of BIG birds on their way, sooner or later.

Drewski
Old 10-18-2023, 09:44 PM

The northern birds started showing up in central Alberta, about a week ago. Next week things should pick up with the colder temperatures.
Old 10-18-2023, 10:49 PM

Send them south! All we got right now are resident coots….
Old 10-19-2023, 07:02 AM

Saw massive flights of snow geese a week ago. Way further west than normal

Also more canadas showing up every week

Strangely only a couple groups of mallards so far

I gotta find a good pond or field this year, need some duck fat in the diet
Old 10-19-2023, 07:52 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3blade View Post
Saw massive flights of snow geese a week ago. Way further west than normal

Also more canadas showing up every week

Strangely only a couple groups of mallards so far

I gotta find a good pond or field this year, need some duck fat in the diet