Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 12-20-2013, 11:24 PM

Default Burbot Tips

I would love some Burb tips from all you fishing veterans. Location, Techniques and any other info is welcome and greatly appreciated.
Old 12-20-2013, 11:31 PM

Location - definitely lake X.

Technique - Smelt on hook or jig head seems to be the best.

Depth will depend on the lake and time of spawn as the uglies go back to deeper water after they finish "doing their thing".
Old 12-21-2013, 04:41 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by EZM View Post
Location - definitely lake X.

Technique - Smelt on hook or jig head seems to be the best.

Depth will depend on the lake and time of spawn as the uglies go back to deeper water after they finish "doing their thing".
That narrows it down.

Gonna get me a 16" perch.
Old 12-21-2013, 08:43 AM

i am no expert since i've only caught my first burb this fall.

But I have found them in the rivers in 10' holes, and in 16' in the lakes jigging smelt right off bottom. I've caught most of mine during the middle of the day, though I feel like I've been extremely lucky since most people wait till dusk.

the burbs i did catch this fall in lakes during the day were covered in mud - something i read burbs do during the day - burrow into the bottom. either i was jigging my smelt right over them and/or i enticed them out of their slumber/ambush spot?
Old 12-21-2013, 10:19 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kim473 View Post
That narrows it down.
How much more do you need?? That summed it up quite nicely I thought...
Old 12-21-2013, 10:22 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter Trav View Post
How much more do you need?? That summed it up quite nicely I thought...
perhaps she ment what she said. as it does do a good job of narrowing it down...

id says bang on the bottom with the jig head every min or so.. then just dead stick it till something grabs it

was gonna try to keep track but ive caught to many!!!
Old 12-21-2013, 02:03 PM