Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 11-05-2011, 11:58 AM

Smile Need advice Duck and Goose Hunting

Hi all

I am in my first year waterfowling. So far I had had a good year taking some great birds however with the weather change now ( freezing ponds etc) I am not sure what the best tactics are for this kind of weather.

Does anyone have any advice?

Also, I a looking for a couple of guys (or gals) who are looking for another waterfowler to join them I have all the gear and decoys etc but I am looking for someone who also is looking for someone to hunt with. I don't mind putting in my time and effort wether it be scouting or retrieving calling etc...but I want to partner with folks that are prepared to do the same.

I would consider myself to be a fairly hardcore hunter. If this sounds like you let me know.

JC
Old 11-05-2011, 12:24 PM

Default spot for field shoot on feeding ducks and geese!

Spotting field shoots is the only tactic I know of after the water gets hard. Even so it doesn't always work out. Watched a field for 3 days this week and ducks and geese feeding but not at normal times (early morning and late afternoon). Set up this morning at first light and my son was very cold by 9 AM (2 hours of -17 in a layout blind) so I took him home. Got back to the field just in time to see a large number of geese flying just east of our decoys. Had I not been walking through the field they may have come in.
Even then field shoots don't always pan out.
Old 11-05-2011, 12:49 PM

Default Thanks!

Yea that is kind of what I was leaning too. My current thinking is to find large bodies of water and set up close to them and try to find out where the ducks are going once they take flight and set up there.

Say how old is your son? I took my 9 yr old with me two weeks ago and we had an amazing time.

Chech this out... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i6aXxCYePNk

Last edited by Jcarter; 11-05-2011 at 12:50 PM. Reason: Typos