Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 03-22-2018, 09:47 PM

Default Any Gas Appliance Repair guys out there?

Hey Everyone,

I have a Bertazzoni gas range/oven where I think I need the thermocouple replaced. I have ordered the part and it has arrived.

Called the manufacturer's listed local service provider makes me a little nervous as they don't return phone calls and don't seem to be too familiar with the range ?!?!?!

So I went to look at how much work this was (youtube) and probably could tackle it BUT, this is an expensive oven so I thought it might be best to hire someone who has done this before as I don't want to break/screw up this oven and break something ... which is something I am good at. lol.

It also occurred to me, as I have zero gas appliance experience if this wasn't a quick fix and the thermocouple didn't fix it - I have zero idea how to trouble shoot a fix myself anyways - so it could be a waste of time and I'd have the oven in pieces which would make my wife and daughter pretty darn mad at me.

I am not looking for someone to do it for free or even for cheap - I am happy to pay for a professional who has some real life experience with these (these ranges/ovens are not common) and similar to a wolf "homeowner/commercial" type range.

I am in the west end and pretty flexible in terms of scheduling. I would pay cash if that works well for a qualified professional to do a little work on the side.

Thanks.
Old 03-23-2018, 09:51 AM

Sometimes these fixes are actually very simple. Our gas dryer quit. Google clued me in to the thermal fuse. About 200.cheaper than having a service call.

Grizz
Old 03-23-2018, 10:17 AM
Suspended User

Most of these are simple. Except that universal thermocouples don't always fit. I find that the routing usually sucks. Plus it could also be the gas regulating valve. Haven't worked on what you own, but in general they work on the same principal.