Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 02-14-2018, 10:24 PM

Default coyote attacks in city

i am no coyote expert but it seems to me that the coyotes i have seen on my daily walks in the dog park are becoming more and more brazen. to my way of thinking there is nothing "natural" about that. in the countryside near brothers farm near wizard lake no self respecting coyote would be seen skulking around a farmhouse in the middle of the day. and if it were it would be running as though Thor himself was tossing thunderbolts his way the moment it saw a human. now THAT'S natural. a coyote with little to no fear of people is most definitely not. now i know we can't set up a call site in the middle of Mackenzie ravine, but surely something could be done to put the fear of people back into these critters. hounds and paintball guns . I guess it's just irksome . i have a 7 month old pointer and can't leave her off leash unless i go to the farm. when her recall is rock solid i have no problem leaving her run. but last weekend they tore to pieces a 110lb Bernese mountain dog. when does the city do something? when they kill an 80 lb girl walking home from school? am i off base here?
Old 02-15-2018, 08:49 AM

I think it's a direct result of the "the animals were here first and we've invaded their home" crowd! In most urban areas, people, when encountering coyotes, are counselled to 'not make direct eye contact, slowly back away, and give them their space.' All this does over time is teach the coyote that he's alpha dog - even over humans, and encourages him to press his advantage. End result is brazenly killing pets - or in our town, biting kids.
IMO, when you see an urban coyote acting like he owns the block, immediately challenge him - throw rocks, yell and run straight at him until he skeedaddles. Your neighbourhood pets will thank you, and in the big picture, so will the coyote.
Old 02-15-2018, 09:09 AM