Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 06-02-2023, 06:34 PM

Default Growing garden peas problem

I’ve been growing peas for 25 years and never had this happen.

Looks like something is pruning the peas back. Reminds me of what deer do on bushes. Just the tips chewed off.

Some weeds don’t have slug chomping that normally due which makes me think it’s not that. Don’t see much for rabbits. Some gray squirrels around.

Maybe birds?

I’m stumped. Planted April 31 and weather has been good. Got back now expecting 4-6 inch healthy peas. Not the case.

Need to go buy more seeds and replant.

Any ideas?
It is not the most intellectual of the species that survives; it is not the strongest that survives; but the species that survives is the one that is able best to adapt and adjust to the changing environment in which it finds itself. Charles Darwin

Last edited by roper1; 06-03-2023 at 10:37 AM.
Old 06-02-2023, 06:45 PM

Rabbits,groundhogs ????
Old 06-02-2023, 07:12 PM

Default Sparrows

Little buggers been pruning mine for a couple summers now. Then they got the pods later.

Netting my peas this year. They’ve even attacked the beans on occasion.
Old 06-02-2023, 07:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldjeda View Post
Little buggers been pruning mine for a couple summers now. Then they got the pods later.

Same here. Couldn’t figure out why my one bed of peas weren’t growing as well as another about 20’ away. Started watching and saw the birds coming to snack so had to make hoops and covered with netting. Growing well now. Once they reach a certain size they’ll leave them alone. tog
Old 06-02-2023, 07:21 PM

Birds most likely. I have some peas in planter boxes on my fence & they've been pruned back by birds before, being elevated 4' off the ground eliminates a few suspects. A protective mesh ought to keep the critters at bay.