Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 04-24-2023, 10:36 AM

Default Reloading 45 colt

Hey everyone. I’m looking into reloading for a 45 colt out of a Henry big boy lever rifle. I see prophet river has some 250GR campro copper plated round nose bullets. 2 questions about this as I’m new to reloading and have only reloaded 270 and 6.5, my load book shows 45 colt as a pistol projectile, would I load these to pistol spec and then work my way up looking for pressure signs, or are there seperate load data sheets I can find pertaining to rifle specs. Question number 2, would these bullets be legal for hunting whitetails in alberta? They are copper plated which I believe is still an expandable but will avoid them if it’s questionable. If so what kind of projectile would you recommend for a 25-75 yard bush rifle? Thank you in advance, any info is appreciated!
Old 04-24-2023, 10:50 AM

For the second question I believe it is legal. As for the first our book has it under rifles(Lyman 50 and 51).
Old 04-24-2023, 10:56 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 338wea View Post
For the second question I believe it is legal. As for the first our book has it under rifles(Lyman 50 and 51).
Weird I must have skipped right over it by accident then haha, thank you.
Old 04-29-2023, 07:29 PM

Be aware that plated bullets have a maximum velocity, above which the plating will separate and cause all kinds of problems.

I don’t buy what campro says about their supposed 8 mil plating. Plating does not have the structural strength of a jacket.

As for legality…oh boy…yes it probably does expand, but you are gonna have a hell of a time convincing any fishcop that’s not a FMJ. They are not firearms experts and you will certainly end up in front of a judge to prove it.
Old 04-29-2023, 08:28 PM

Straight cast works just fine. I favour a little bit heavier bullet.