Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 09-06-2016, 02:33 PM
Banned

Default Noob question

Hi. I am fairly new to this and I want to hunt this year. I have my PAL/RPAL and a win card. I found this page

http://www.albertaregulations.ca/huntingregs/

But I need some clarification on a few things. I'm probably going to be by myself as usual so I'm only looking to hunt ducks, pheasants and whatever other birds I can legally shoot and eat and carry out on my own.

1. Is taking a hunting safety course absolutely necessary (by necessary I mean is it required by law?)

2. I was under the impression that, you get your hunting license, tags, and permission from the land owner and you're good to go? T or F?

3. Can I just walk into Bass Pro or Wholesale and get a license and some tags with my win card? Or do I need to take the hunting safety course first?

4. Is crown land different than wildlife management units?

Anything else I should know?

Thanks for any advice/clarification.
Old 09-06-2016, 02:37 PM

1. yes
  2. true
  3. the latter
  4. yes

As a Newbie you need to get your hunter education, then you can get your hunting licenses. WMU's cover all land in Alberta and contain both public and private land.

Read this now from cover to cover, before you get jumped all over.
http://albertaregulations.ca/huntingregs/

Honestly, I'd also recommend you read the Firearms Act (Federal) and the Alberta Wildlife Act as well. They are the basis of what you see in the Regulations.
Good luck and good hunting!

Last edited by Okotokian; 09-06-2016 at 02:43 PM.
Old 09-06-2016, 02:42 PM

All your questions and many more will be answered when you take your first time Hunter education course.. Yes it is a Mandatory Course before you can hunt in Alberta.. You can ether contact a local fish & game club to see if they have a course planned or you can take it online for $80 I believe..

Jim...
Old 09-06-2016, 02:46 PM
Banned