Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 05-29-2015, 06:14 PM

Default Hunting arrow and broad head suggestions

Hey guys I'm new to the bow world and I'm hooked, but I have a few questions about arrows and broad heads, which would be the best hunting combo? I realize everyone has there own poison so im looking for any suggestions, I'm shooting a Bow Tech insanity cpxl set at 55lb and a draw of 30" , right now I'm shooting maxima blue streak 350carbons with field tips and small game heads but I want to hunt big game this fall so any suggestions on arrow set up would be greatly appreciated thanks.
Old 05-29-2015, 06:50 PM

Lots of broad heads to choose from. I'm partial to slick tricks but wanna try the Qad exodus this year
Old 05-29-2015, 07:05 PM

I shoot a rage 2 blade 100grain
Old 05-29-2015, 07:13 PM

First, make sure your bow is paper tuned.

Second, try a bunch. There is no way to know what will work, and what won't, on any particular bow. My dxt shoots muzzy 3 blade 100 gr best. Out of the viper nano, those heads are way high and left.

At 55 lbs, imo, you should stick with a fixed blade design. Suggestions: muzzy 3 blade (original design), slik tricks, G5 montec. With a lower poundage bow, a shallower blade angle will improve penetration. As will a trocar or cut-on-contact design. And make sure you spin test every arrow/broad head combo.
Old 05-29-2015, 08:57 PM

Just guessing that cpxl is probably pushing your arrows just under 300 fps. You should have enough jam to shoot expandables if you choose. A 30" draw and a 340fps bow help out your cause hugely and it's not that low of of an energy setup.
Old 05-30-2015, 07:07 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by NBFK View Post
Just guessing that cpxl is probably pushing your arrows just under 300 fps. You should have enough jam to shoot expandables if you choose. A 30" draw and a 340fps bow help out your cause hugely and it's not that low of of an energy setup.