Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 06-11-2020, 09:15 AM

Default Bullet puller

What’s your fav bullet puller, and why?

Last edited by aardvaark; 06-11-2020 at 09:21 AM.
Old 06-11-2020, 09:41 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by aardvaark View Post
What’s your fav bullet puller, and why?

I just got the only one I've ever had, an RCBS 9440. It seems to work well, I don't see a mark on pulled bullets. Thats about all I can tell you, I'm very new to reloading.
Old 06-11-2020, 09:46 AM

I use a collet type bullet puller, I don't believe hammering on things has a place in loading.
Old 06-11-2020, 09:59 AM

Default puller

I've a kenetic (hammer type)puller RCBS and a collet puller also RCBS, To say one over the other is better I cannot. I like the kenetic for pulling uncrimped loads and the collet puller is a must for crimped loads in my experience, especially military crimps. Takes way too much striking force for me to feel comfortable when using hammer style puller, however sometime if you are a little too aggressive with the collet pullet it will damage bullet profile as well. If I had to settle for one it would probably be the collet, its slower and you do have to be carefull when tighten the collet, it but theres no loose powder to have to deal with, on each bullet pull.
Old 06-11-2020, 10:49 AM

I have a collet and a kinetic. If I seat to deep and need a fine adjustment Or just need to pull 1 or 2 I use the kinetic. If it’s a big job and you have a few to pull I bust out the collet.
Old 06-11-2020, 10:53 AM

If you aren’t going to pull more than $100 worth of bullets in your reloading career, use a pair of side cutters.

-Billy Molls
Old 06-11-2020, 02:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck View Post
If you aren’t going to pull more than $100 worth of bullets in your reloading career, use a pair of side cutters.

That’s all I’ve ever used
It’s good incentive to not screw up