Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 05-13-2022, 01:36 PM

Default Wild game processing etc

Hello everyone
Just testing the waters as to whether opening a Butcher shop in the Claresholm area would be something that there is interest in, focusing on wild game mainly with other processing possibilities. Just checking on interest at the moment. I have 38 years experience and currently work for Canadian Food Inspection Agency so well versed in food safety etc. Thanks for any comments you may provide. Peter
Old 05-13-2022, 03:24 PM

Only one way to find out! Never know til you hang your shingle. Life is short and good cutters are in demand.
Old 05-13-2022, 04:32 PM

I live in the area and I know the butchers are busy. I have used a guy on the blue trail, glenwood and back ountry. I had to almost beg them to take my animals the last two years they were so busy. I think you could do well if you put out a good product
Old 05-14-2022, 09:56 PM

I would research any existing competition and do a honest self evaluation of how you would offer a point of difference over what is currently offered.
Old 05-16-2022, 06:06 AM

Thumbs up Shop

You would do well Pete, most people want a honest fair experience an your both. I know allot of hunters that take there animals 2+ hour drive from home to get that experience.
Old 05-28-2022, 05:43 PM

Well been scoping out some new property for Butcher shop, found 6 acres with 1800 sq ft building already onsite, only issue is it has a well that only does 2 gallons per minute so figuring out water is the problem, anyone have any suggestions on how to possible deal with water concerns, thanks in advance Peter.
Old 05-28-2022, 05:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by omega50 View Post
I would research any existing competition and do a honest self evaluation of how you would offer a point of difference over what is currently offered.