Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Trapping Discussion

Old 06-01-2016, 08:30 AM

Default Teaching kids today

Got a chance to go in and teach a few classes about trapping today ages around 7-9. The just finished studying the fur trade.
What kinds of things should I talk about?
Was thinking about all the anti trapping hype and wanted to teach them something so they can see why trapping is important and not as cruel as they may hear about later in life by people that are not in the know.
Any ideas or thoughts would be appreciated. Not sure if I am a teacher or not but I have an opportunity to win a few kids over I hope.
Taking some tanned fur in as well as some older and modern traps and teach them a bit of the trap standards as well.
Old 06-01-2016, 08:34 AM

Make it interesting for the age group and don't get into the technical stuff, they don't care
I'd focus on the no suffering part and how by only taking a certain number each year we keep it sustainable. But in a fun way ! lol
Old 06-01-2016, 08:47 AM

Talk about why and what you love about it. Your excitement will show through then and that's what grabs kids. Talk about being in the wilderness, figuring out where different animals live and what attracts them. Show some different tracks, etc.
Old 06-01-2016, 08:55 AM

Talk to the ATA, I think they have kits that they make available for these types of opportunities....
Old 06-01-2016, 09:04 AM
Gone Hunting

Don't say anything about gorillas.

I've done a few classes, but the kids were older. Like was said, not to technical, and tell them the benefits from population control, disease control etc.
Throw in how much fun it is and how fur is processed.

It isn't a question of who will allow me, but who will stop me.. Ayn Rand
Old 06-01-2016, 09:28 AM