Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 02-02-2016, 05:58 PM

Default Peep or No peep?

Hey I'm new to archery and need some advise. I picked up a PSE prophecy last year used and started shooting on my own with no direction. I was relatively impressed on how I could shoot, some might not be as impressed lol. The peep on the PSE was a cheap one with a rubber tube. The site fell out after about a month. I then met a guy at work who I would consider the best archer I know or have ever come across. He has helped me out immensely. The issue is he convinced me not to put a peep back in but use a kisser button alone. Him and his buddies do this and can shoot unbelievably well and consistent up to 80y or so. I seem to struggle with being consistent! He tells me I have to keep shooting until putting the bow up and having it in the same position becomes a natural action. He says once I accomplish this I will never want a peep again as it is so beneficial in low light. I was getting impatient with that reasoning at the end of last season. Is this common to shoot with no peep site? Should I ride it out?
Old 02-02-2016, 06:13 PM
Banned

If it were me, I'd have a peep in there, at least until you develop proper, repeatable form.

I used to shoot my compound bow instinctively, no sight, no peep, just a kisser button and I shot it incredibly well, but I went to sights and then a sight with a peep and lost the kisser button. I'm no pro, but I shoot fairly good using a peep and sight. Some guys use a "no peep" system and like those too. It's all what you're used to I guess. If you find you're not as accurate as you want to be, don't try and be cool, do what works best for you.
Old 02-02-2016, 06:24 PM