Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 08-22-2019, 08:54 AM

Default Looking to buy an E collars

I am looking to buy an e collar and I am new to owning a gun dog. So many choices out there right now.
I am thinking that the beeper options is nice to find a dog that is pointing that you may not be able to see.
Most of the place I hunt the visibility is pretty good but I have always been on foot with my partners and we have never had a dog.

I have Wirehaired Pointing Griffon that is 5 months old and strong willed, knows the commands but at times will not come.

Do I really need the most expensive $500 kind? I realize that if the pup is well trained you shouldn't but.

What are hunters using and why?
Old 08-22-2019, 09:02 AM

I have been using the Dogtra 2500 for over three years, and it has been excellent. The beeper is a nice feature to locate your dog in heavy cover, and the beep itself , can be used as a recall on windy days, where it is hard to hear very far. My collar is used every day , as I run my dog every day in the field, and battery life has been excellent.
Old 08-22-2019, 09:20 AM

Also have the Dogtra 2500. Nothing negative to say about it at all.

Wish it had GPS, but that is really more just for my own curiosity to see how many km the pup logs.
Old 08-22-2019, 09:20 AM

I’ve got a bunch of collars at home, some 20 years old. They have all needed batteries and some repair over the years. I have not found that one manufacturer is better than another as far as reliability goes. One company though does stand way above the other in customer service and warranty l, that is Sportdog and that is who I recommend.
Old 08-22-2019, 09:23 AM

I did briefly own a gps collar and it was a real game changer. If you can afford one check them out.
Old 08-22-2019, 09:25 AM