Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 02-28-2016, 04:18 PM

Default New to hog buying

Hello all,

As stated, I have never done this before. Live near red deer and I'm looking for a farmer who would sell me a hog that i could deal with on my own.

Ideally they would let me kill and gut it on their property since I live in town and people frown on that in back alleys around where I live.....

I don't know if this is the right time of year for doing this.

I want the meat for BBQ season and the trim for sausage making.

Any help to push me in the right direction would be appreciated.
Old 02-28-2016, 05:07 PM

I'm thinking your best bet would probably be to order a pig from a farmer that sells cut and wrapped pigs. See if they would be able to sell you a whole pig slaughtered and cut into quarters. Its not hard to do yourself but a farmer can't legally sell to you and let you butcher it there. Lots of people will try and skirt around this but the rules are pretty straight forward.

I would look for a Berkshire or Berkshire mix for best meat quality. Its a little more expensive and has more fat but the meat is amazing.

Also ask about the diet. You can ruin a Berkshire feeding commercial feed and taking a commercial hog and feeding it the right grains with grass will make good tasting meat with nice color.

When I'm looking at pork for quality I like to see a hard, white fat. I also like the marbling that the Berkshire's have. A pastured pig will have dark colored meat, I'v has chops before that alomost looked the color of beef.

I prefer my hogs on the heavy side. I like to butcher just past 300lbs. Some growers don't grow that long because feed efficiency dropps lots after 200 lbs. This will give the meat a better flavor but might but you have to trim more fat off.