Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Trapping Discussion

Old 12-07-2016, 09:12 AM

Default snare refusals

So i have a bait site with about a dozen snares around it. i checked it yesterday and had a few smart coyotes come up the the site and turn around right in front of the snares. they did this at three different snares trying to access the bait.

What do you guys do about these smart dogs? i've been snaring in the area for a few years now. my guess is that they have seen my snares before and remember them.
Old 12-07-2016, 09:16 AM

Not too close to bait? Is it happening in open areas or in darker woods?

Maybe , if you have time set a couple foot holds and pull out a couple snares?
Old 12-07-2016, 09:44 AM

might be a little close to bait. most snares are about 20-40 yards from the bait. they are set in aspen trees. not very heavy bush so i had to do a lot of "fencing"
Old 12-07-2016, 09:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmparker View Post
might be a little close to bait. most snares are about 20-40 yards from the bait. they are set in aspen trees. not very heavy bush so i had to do a lot of "fencing"
Sounds like you fenced them in well if you had multiples right at the snare , only to turn around. if you have the gear and the time id try a few foot holds. get the smart ones

Did you boil the snares? Were your snares dipped? Baking soda washed?
Old 12-07-2016, 10:11 AM

Default coyotes

The more fencing you do, the more you wreck the set. The set location should be as natural as possible with the exception of the snare and drag. Next time chose your bait location in a thicker place where fencing is not needed.
Fencing will work on fisher,lynx, mink, beaver but coyotes are too suspicious.
Old 12-07-2016, 11:11 AM

Found a lot of times when the dog goes right up to the snare and turns around they smelt it. Seems if they see it they usually just veer off before hand and go around.