Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 06-28-2013, 05:59 PM

Question What kind of bird is this?

I was out doing yard work when I felt like something was watching me. I look up and see this guy on the bird feeder. lol! He looked so awkward in there with his giant feet and beak. He's different than the regular birds. There's something aggressive about him. The way he watched me was odd. His feathers don't have that soft look the other birds have and he clearly didn't belong in a bird feeder. He's pretty interesting to watch though. I know there's a lot of people here who know their stuff when it comes to birds so I'm hoping someone can tell me what he is even though it's a crappy phone picture.

Old 06-28-2013, 06:28 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yellow-headed_Blackbird

Perhaps. I'm no bird expert though.

We learn from history that we do not learn from history. - Hegel

Your obligation to fight has not been relieved because the battle is fierce and difficult. Ben Shapiro
Old 06-28-2013, 07:01 PM

Thinkin' you're right. Female or juvie.

NRA/NFA Supporter and "...gun toting tea party psychotard..." -
Old 06-28-2013, 07:04 PM

Would be fun to video record it
Old 06-28-2013, 08:51 PM

Yeah, major stink eye there. Bird better watch its tude.
Old 06-28-2013, 09:12 PM

Not a hundred percent sure but looks like a kee kee bird.
Old 06-28-2013, 09:21 PM

Thanks Wild&Free! That definitely seems to be the kind of bird it is. It says they normally live near marshes. That explains why it's so awkward. Haha! The other birds are looking at it like it's crazy.

Dave, no doubt. If I don't show up for a few days you can go ahead and assume that thing took me out. There's just something about that one...like I wouldn't be shocked if it pulled a knife. My yard continues to attract the weirdest animals. You get a beautiful baby Robin and I get Big Bird with a criminal record.
Old 06-28-2013, 09:45 PM

Quote: