Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 04-22-2010, 04:26 PM

Default smooth bore or rifled

i'm new to shotguns and was wondering how do you tell if a shotgun is rifled or has a smooth bore barrel? i have a 20 gauge remington 870 express magnum with a 21-inch vent rib rem choke with modified choke tube. is this a smooth bore or rifled? i want to shoot slugs with it. thanks.
Old 04-22-2010, 04:52 PM

I'd just look down the bore (safely of course).

I'm open to being wrong but I'm pretty sure you have a smooth bore. I THINK rifled barrels usually come in combos, and aren't ribbed. Plus I believe the Super Magnum Express only comes in 12 gauge (you can get the regular express in 20). but then that 21 inch barrel length.... hmmm that sounds like an Express Compact. The rifled barrel in the combo is 20 inches.

But take a look

You can shoot slugs with a smooth bore too.
Old 04-23-2010, 04:01 PM

yeah what Okotokian said. emphasis on safley ... look down the barrel. If it has lands and grooves aka rifling, well, its rifled. If its smooth well, its not. Again the correct me if Im wrong thing here... but it has a choked barrel... therefore its designed to shoot shotshells, not slugs, I would say its a standard smoothbore shotgun barrel.
Old 04-23-2010, 04:01 PM

x2
Old 04-23-2010, 04:04 PM

I should have added the modified choke will allow you to shoot slugs, but it will sacrifice some accuracy as it deforms the slug while it leaves the end of the barrel... and after repeated firing, will deform the choke. I hope some of the shotgun guru's see this and add their two cents. Why do you own a shotgun and not know the difference between rifled and not rifled anyways? just curious?
Old 04-23-2010, 04:07 PM

x2 again
Old 04-23-2010, 04:08 PM
Gone Hunting

Quote:
Originally Posted by switchsl View Post