Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 06-27-2016, 11:30 AM

Default East Pit Lake

I was thinking about heading out to East Pit Lake to learn how to fish this coming weekend. (i am a newbie to this but i think it will be fun to try something new. Licence is in hand. I have a spin cast rod/reel with 6-15lbs line and some smaller spoons with gulp bait ready to go....

Has anyone been out yet this season that could give me some insight into shore fishing?

Can anyone give me pointers on where to go for cheap lures as well? I would like to build a tackle box for myself!
Old 06-27-2016, 12:44 PM

Cabelas in Calgary has a bunch of bins full of 4 dollar rapalas (80th anniversary sale or something) would think the cabelas in Edmonton would be doing the same.
Old 06-27-2016, 12:59 PM

i will jump to the one in south edmonton tonight and take a look what is there.
Old 06-27-2016, 01:03 PM

corn works great ... pretty slow when i was there sunday morning . lighter tackle and lines 4-8 lbs will do .

when the water are calm the action is better either early morning or late evening
Old 06-27-2016, 01:47 PM

Is the fishing better on the lake vs shoreline? I ask as I have always wanted to fish this lake, now have two kayaks and can get out onto East Pit and some of the pot hole lakes with one on my kids/friends.
Old 06-27-2016, 07:14 PM

Go to the fishing hole and pick up a couple of slender spoons. They do good on east pit. Keep and eye on kijiji for fishing gear. Good deals comes up quite often on there
Old 06-27-2016, 09:15 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishtank View Post
corn works great ... pretty slow when i was there sunday morning . lighter tackle and lines 4-8 lbs will do .

when the water are calm the action is better either early morning or late evening
I was told corn is not good for fish bait as the fish can't digest it and it plugs up their butt hole and they die.
Old 06-27-2016, 09:45 PM

Big Red----no.....