Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 07-11-2020, 07:49 AM

Default delete

My rod collection is getting bigger and bigger !

And its going to get bigger

So what's your go to downrigger rod for Lakers ?
Old 07-11-2020, 09:24 AM

I have a few sets of downrigger or dispy rods but for Lakers and Salmon I have 2 sets of

Shimano Talora Rods Medium Flex, Moderate Action, Fast Tip 8'6"

http://fish.shimano.com/content/fish...NRIGGER_A.html

Okuma Cold Water Line Counter Reels 200 series LH

https://www.amazon.ca/Okuma-Coldwate...24STXNPDX5TMPT
Old 07-11-2020, 11:26 AM

I've been downrigging for lakers for over 40 years. I have two, 2-piece, 10 foot rods, one glass, and the other composite, and both take level-wind reels (I use ABU Garcia Ambassadeurs).

True downrigger rods are very specialized, single-purpose units and pretty much useless for any other form of fishing. They are basically wet noodles that load over the entire length of the rod, not just the tip. The intent is that they can take a full arc without exerting too much pressure on the downrigger release. That is the only way you will be able to get the 20-50 feet of line out behind the downrigger without constant releases to minor things like the boat moving in the waves etc.

You can use other rods as well; we have. The issue is you cannot load the rod heavily without getting early releases, meaning that you will regularly miss fish because the rod rebound after release is not consistently smooth to ensure good hookup.
Old 07-11-2020, 12:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jednastka View Post
I've been downrigging for lakers for over 40 years. I have two, 2-piece, 10 foot rods, one glass, and the other composite, and both take level-wind reels (I use ABU Garcia Ambassadeurs).