Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2017, 06:18 AM
Jaylive Jaylive is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: sykvan lake
Posts: 19
Default Most accurate lake maps?

Hey I'm just wondering what lake maps other guys are using in Alberta? I'm running navionics and have found on my home lakes of sylvan and gull that they are quite inaccurate. I mean ya it will show the steep breaks and stuff but iv gone out to fish certain structure just to find out it's not really there. Any one else have this problem? Thinking of switching to another map company any suggestions or concerns? Thinking of heading to cold lake for lakers and I don't wanna get there and the map be put to lunch like it is here.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2017, 06:28 AM
FlyTheory's Avatar
FlyTheory FlyTheory is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 996
Default

I know those self-imaging programs are the most accurate maps since you fabricate the map yourself!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2017, 06:52 AM
sturgeonhound's Avatar
sturgeonhound sturgeonhound is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North of Edmonton
Posts: 151
Default

The most accurate maps are the ones you make your self with lowrance's insight genesis or humminbird's autochart. The commercially available maps are all about the same, but from my research, navioincs sonar chart seems to be the best because it gets updates from all of the folks that record their own data and share it with navioincs.

If you want help making your own maps, shoot me a pm.
__________________
Wishin' I was Fishin'
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2017, 07:37 AM
TylerThomson TylerThomson is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 290
Default

If you ate running the phone app of navionics turn on community edits. Bottom left of the map screen click the sonar icon. Click on sonar chart. Click on update all.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2017, 08:07 AM
livinstone livinstone is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TylerThomson View Post
If you ate running the phone app of navionics turn on community edits. Bottom left of the map screen click the sonar icon. Click on sonar chart. Click on update all.
WHAT??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2017, 08:41 AM
laker taker2 laker taker2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 133
Default

Does the navionics app only work on a lake if you have cell service or does it work with gps location from the phone?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2017, 09:42 AM
RavYak's Avatar
RavYak RavYak is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: West Edmonton
Posts: 4,019
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by laker taker2 View Post
Does the navionics app only work on a lake if you have cell service or does it work with gps location from the phone?
Works like the gps on your phone. You have to preload the maps if you are going out of cell service but if you do that then the gps will still pick you up and show your location. If you forget to preload maps then it is useless.

There are no accurate lake maps available here in AB other then a couple lakes on insight genesis down south or ones that guys have made for themselves.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2017, 10:07 AM
TylerThomson TylerThomson is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by livinstone View Post
WHAT??
What is it you are having trouble understanding? If you can't infer from my post what this does, it turns on community edits and the map is built from sonar information that it's provided by fisherman and it is updated regularly.

It increases the accuracy of the charts down to 1 foot increments.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-10-2017, 10:14 AM
TylerThomson TylerThomson is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 290
Default

Here is a screen shot of the point west of the marina. First one is navionics chart second is same chart with community provided sonar info.

Sent from my SM-G935W8 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-10-2017, 11:47 AM
RavYak's Avatar
RavYak RavYak is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: West Edmonton
Posts: 4,019
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TylerThomson View Post
Here is a screen shot of the point west of the marina. First one is navionics chart second is same chart with community provided sonar info.
The sonar charts view is more accurate on some water bodies but still horribly inaccurate on most of our lakes. I think they used the same data and just added more interpolated lines to it, I don't think most of them have actually been updated by locals.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-10-2017, 12:07 PM
TylerThomson TylerThomson is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 290
Default

I emailed them a while ago and they told me that those maps are the ones that are updated by people who run compatible sonar and upload the info from them. I've found it to be pretty accurate on the more popular lakes but it defaults to navionics maps if there is no sonar dares available.

On the mite popular lakes I've had no problem using it to locate mid lake humps and bars but depending on which lake your are at ymmv.

If anyone knows of a better map pack I'd live to hear about it I would buy it in a second.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-10-2017, 12:31 PM
RavYak's Avatar
RavYak RavYak is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: West Edmonton
Posts: 4,019
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TylerThomson View Post
If anyone knows of a better map pack I'd live to hear about it I would buy it in a second.
There is no better one other then making your own.

I am just pointing out that like Navionics in general you have to take the sonar charts view with a grain of salt too. For example the image that you showed for Cold Lake is not even close to accurate. It looks a lot more detailed but it is worthless because the contours are not correct.

It still can help find the odd hump, drop off etc but you have to be willing to cover a bunch of ground because they often are not where navionics shows them and sometimes they don't even exist. Still better then nothing though.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-10-2017, 01:15 PM
rmk800's Avatar
rmk800 rmk800 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Morinville, AB
Posts: 243
Default

http://aep.alberta.ca/forms-maps-ser...etry-maps.aspx

here are some

Last edited by rmk800; 01-10-2017 at 01:20 PM. Reason: found better link
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-10-2017, 05:13 PM
220 Swift 220 Swift is online now
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Torquay, Saskatchewan
Posts: 274
Default

Can a map that someone makes be saved on anothers machine on humminbird Auto chart
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-10-2017, 05:36 PM
huntsfurfish huntsfurfish is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southern Alberta
Posts: 5,991
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 220 Swift View Post
Can a map that someone makes be saved on anothers machine on humminbird Auto chart
If you have a zero lines card.
__________________
.

eat a snickers


made in Alberta__ born n raised.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-10-2017, 05:40 PM
Jaylive Jaylive is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: sykvan lake
Posts: 19
Default

Yah for instance on my navionics it showed a spine leading out to a reef but I drilled and drilled and never found it. Another instance it showed a big break like 30ft drop and when I drilled i relized it was just a gental slope. Anyways I was just seeing if I happen to find a few small issues back to back or if others had problems too. Any input on lake master? Or garmin lakeview hd? Might be worth the switch. I have a helix for ice fishing I don't have a chart plotter. All input is appreciated good chat guys.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-10-2017, 08:19 PM
Willowtrail's Avatar
Willowtrail Willowtrail is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 2,223
Default

I use Insight Genesis with my Lowrance unit and there's no more accurate map out there. The negative is when I go to a new lake. I don't have any info on the lake of my own. I can go on and upload the Social Map but then I'm relying on someone else's map and I've been on a lake downrigging and started bouncing on bottom when the graph showed me I should have been 20' up from the bottom.

I did contact Insight about this and sent in my sonar logs and it has since been fixed.

The second drawback is when I got on a long trip and camp. I have to either tether to my cell phone and eat up data to get my map back or go without. They still don't have live mapping sadly.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-10-2017, 08:23 PM
RavYak's Avatar
RavYak RavYak is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: West Edmonton
Posts: 4,019
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willowtrail View Post
They still don't have live mapping sadly.
Check a few threads down, it was just announced that some of the HDS gen 2 and 3 units as well as Elite Ti units will have live mapping via an update.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-10-2017, 08:30 PM
SamSteele's Avatar
SamSteele SamSteele is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 987
Default

The new Helix 5 & 7 G2s have Autochart now too, plus you can use them with the ice kit for ice fishing. Pretty great technology for a relatively low input cost.

Last year was my first year with a Helix 9 and Autochart and it was a game changer. Making accurate maps as I needed in realtime was such a time saver. Being able to have those same maps in a portable unit for ice fishing would be awesome too.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"To be glad of life because it gives you the chance to love and to work and to play and to look up at the stars- to be satisfied with your possessions but not content with yourself until you have made the best of them...to think seldom of your enemies, often of your friends, and every day of Christ; to spend as much time as you can in God's out-of doors- these are the little guideposts on the footpaths to peace."

-Henry Van Dyke
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-10-2017, 09:08 PM
Willowtrail's Avatar
Willowtrail Willowtrail is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 2,223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavYak View Post
Check a few threads down, it was just announced that some of the HDS gen 2 and 3 units as well as Elite Ti units will have live mapping via an update.
Is it not with a Navionics chip? I only have 1 card slot so I can't record Insight and run Navionics. HDS 7 touch
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 01-10-2017, 09:11 PM
Game Hunter Game Hunter is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: edmonton
Posts: 785
Default

What's the full name of that navianics map app? And cost?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-11-2017, 10:19 AM
ddddd05 ddddd05 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 194
Default

Wow that navionics app must be awesome. What a good suggestion. I just went to their website and you can see the maps for free. Just zoom in with coverage chart at the bottom.

http://www.navionics.com/en/mobile-pc-app-2
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-11-2017, 12:46 PM
Jaylive Jaylive is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: sykvan lake
Posts: 19
Default

It is cool just don't get your hopes up to much
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.