Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 06-30-2020, 09:39 PM

Default Pierre Grey Lakes and area

Heading up to do some tent camping the third week of July. Never been there before, going to try some fishing while I am there. I've read Brook's and Rainbow's are stocked in a couple of lakes.

I don't have a boat. Is it a waste of time trying to fish without a boat on these lakes or can you fish from shore/wet wading?

Any other suggestions within an 30 min drive?

TBH- I am very new to fly fishing, could just be happy practicing casting.

cheers.
Old 07-01-2020, 12:36 PM

It has been a number of years since up that way but if memory serves there are a few spots to fish from shore at one of the rainbow lakes.

We had no luck on Brookie lake with pontoon boats but it was also 30 degrees for the four days we were there and a few locals said it got hit pretty hard from ice fishing.

Take my advice with a grain of salt as things may have drastically changed with rainfall, time and other factors.

I do recall it was a pretty spot to camp ( again that may have changed with time, etc.) and there are a few rivers within reasonable driving distance if you're willing to do some walking to find a few fish.

Muskeg and Wildhay would be the closest I think( could be others) but don't quote me on that.

Probably best to get advice from someone that has been there recently and knows the area much better than I.

You could also try calling a CO from up there for a report.
Old 07-06-2020, 09:48 AM

You should be able to catch fish off the docks at the two larger lakes (brookie lake, and the lake with the large island w/ bridge). The first lake is too shallow at the launch, and the lake bottom is very soft and mucky.
Old 07-06-2020, 12:42 PM

thanks

We've rented a canoe since my original post. That should open up some other options for fishing. Hopefully explore all the lakes now.
Old 07-07-2020, 12:07 PM