Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 12-23-2012, 03:38 PM

Default New challenge for next season (buckshot)

Every hunting season I try to come up with a new challenge for myself. Once I accomplish one goal I set my sights on another. For several years it was to kill a Deer while hunting on the ground with a longbow. A couple years before that it was take a mature Whitetail Buck while still hunting. My goal for next season is to take a Deer with buckshot.
Unfortunately I can find very little information on hunting Deer with buckshot, and whats more I am new to shotgunning entirely. So I figured I would ask a few questions, some of which will no doubt sound quite stupid to those who are familiar with shotgunning.

1) I currently don't own a shotgun, but was thinking about buying an old Cooey model 84 12 gauge. Reasons I am leaning toward the Cooey are that it was made in Canada (a BIG part of its allure), can be had for very little money, and is of simple operation and should be easy to clean/maintain. So is there any reason this firearm is not suitable for shooting buckshot?
2) I have been told and am aware that buckshot is an extremely close range load, with most people telling me 30 yards or less. Some people have told me that I can increase that range by using a choked barrel. Other people have told me that you cannot shoot buckshot with a choke. What is the truth of this?
3) Since I have never used buckshot I was wondering which load would be best for Whitetails?
4) Some folks tell me that some buckshot loads from different manufacturers will pattern tighter/looser than others, and that I should shoot several to find what shoots best. Others say it doesn't matter as they all pretty much pattern the same. Which statement is true?