Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 02-15-2018, 09:43 AM

Default Deer Hunting Help

Hey all,

I'm relatively new to hunting, I've been hunting for 2 seasons now. I was able to tag a whitetail my first year, and a mule deer this season. Largely with the help of a mentor and he graciously allowed me to use his private land up near Athabasca and some land he has permission on in 162. I live in Calgary and am willing to drive.

I was wondering if anyone had any tips or advice they would be willing to share with me to try and find a place of my own to hunt either public or private,

I have been up around the Waiparous forest reserve area and have seen some deer.

Appreciate your time.
Old 02-15-2018, 10:12 AM

Either pick an area and ask for permission on private land or start hiking around looking for sign on public
Old 02-15-2018, 10:21 AM

appreciate the reply, any recommendations for WMU's to start with?
Old 02-15-2018, 10:27 AM

They all have animals, it’s all about getting to know the area you hunt, that will determine your success far more than asking for a specific wmu
Old 02-15-2018, 10:29 AM

sounds good, thanks again.

Last edited by Savs; 02-15-2018 at 10:36 AM.
Old 02-15-2018, 10:39 AM

Pick an area. Drive around a few times not during hunting season, usually I like the last hour and half of daylight. See where there’s deer. Find out who owns the land or leases it. Ask permission in a respectful manner. Repeat.
Old 02-15-2018, 10:42 AM

Default Wmu

Start doing the above in the WMUs closest to home and work your way farther out if unsuccessful finding a spot. No point driving 3-4 hours to start your search if you haven’t explored close by.
Old 02-15-2018, 10:47 AM

good insight, I appreciate it. I'll spend more time this spring scouting.
Old 02-15-2018, 10:50 AM