Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 03-22-2011, 08:56 AM

Default Waders. Gortex or Non-Gortex?

Hello all,

Looking to get myself a new pair of waders. I'm currenlty looking at the Simms Freestone and the Simms Headwaters. I'm just what the advantages of Gortex waders are?
Old 03-22-2011, 10:23 AM

grtext keep your from sweatig and moving the sweat out to keep your dry .
Old 03-22-2011, 10:27 AM

what do you mean by "non-gortex"? Are you wanting to compare with rubber ones with attached rubber boots, or neoprene waders? They have different uses and capabilities.
Old 03-22-2011, 11:13 AM

Gore tex material is balanced between waterproof and breathability. Therefore it keeps you dry outside and inside. But overtime your sweat will clog the pores so you must clean with some specialty detergents I'm pretty sure simms can answer that question. Grangers is the product I use.
I have been using simms gore for over 15 yrs and I love them.
Remember gore tex is a lot cheaper now then when I got them and you have choice.

I'm pretty sure other brands of waders are getting better. I heard the BPS white river breathable waders are quite good and the price is right and backed by a great warranty. Watch for the sales from BPS.
Old 03-22-2011, 12:16 PM

Goretex is a brand name and was the 1st of the waterproof/breathable (laminate) materials (WL Gore, invented the technology - patented it). There are 'similar' products on the market (various opinions on whether they are equivalent) that claim to be the same, some are as good (Patagonia H2No - made in the same factory, but branded differently), some are not even close. You pay for the name (research, quality and warrantee) and have to decide what's best for you and your situation... many advantages of Goretex and similar waders and a few disadvantages...

If you are wanting to compare neoprene or rubber, etc., you will need to clarify your question.

P
Old 03-22-2011, 12:31 PM