Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 07-16-2014, 07:41 PM

Post Moose and elk with berger bullets?

Heading out this fall with my 7mm remington magnum and wondering if guys have use the bergers on the larger animals. I am going to use the 140's I have had no trouble in the past with sierra game kings and barnes triple shock in that weight just looking for reviews.
Old 07-16-2014, 07:57 PM

They will likely work if you can get a broadside lung shot, but there is a good chance, that they will fail to penetrate heavier bone.
Old 07-16-2014, 08:29 PM

Default Bergers

I'm not going to get into it, but if it was me I would save them for paper shooting. Leave the hunting to a decent bullet.
Old 07-16-2014, 08:50 PM

I've some experience with the 168 Berger VLD out of the 7RM; eland, moose, deer, zebra, hartebeest, wildebeest, springbok, kudu, gemsbok, warthog, jackal, coyote, etc, etc.. I've killed well in access of 100 game animals and if there's a bullet that kills quicker than the Berger VLD, I've yet to see it. Yes, it will break bone, yes, it will penetrate bone, yes, it will penetrate on quartering shots.

Disregard the naysayers, they have either limited experience or none at all.

Bobby B.

Old 07-16-2014, 08:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby B. View Post
I've some experience with the 168 Berger VLD out of the 7RM; eland, moose, deer, zebra, hartebeest, wildebeest, springbok, kudu, gemsbok, warthog, jackal, coyote, etc, etc.. I've killed well in access of 100 game animals and if there's a bullet that kills quicker than the Berger VLD, I've yet to see it. Yes, it will break bone, yes, it will penetrate bone, yes, it will penetrate on quartering shots.

Bobby B.

I accept that they kill, my concern is about what they do to the meat?
I've heard that they often destroy a lot of good food where another premium bullet would not. It just doesn't make sense to me to use a such a bullet on big game that I intend to eat.