Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 07-11-2018, 09:03 AM

Default Recoil and Old Shooters

At 70 years old my shoulder bones are getting very close to the skin. Hurt is now there. I purchased a Limbsaver Shoulder pad, It should arrive Monday, Hopefully this will distribute the recoil over a wider area, and I will be able to enjoy my currant rifle in the years to come. Does anyone have experience with these.
Old 07-11-2018, 09:37 AM

Default Yes

They are pretty good at doing what your looking for. Another option would be a mercury filled tube in the rear stock that lessens felt recoil, but I have no personal experience with them, but reviews are good.
Old 07-11-2018, 09:39 AM

Default Yup

Most start out with sensible calibers then graduate to the magnum phase ,age and return to sensible calibers.
Old 07-11-2018, 10:58 AM

You may want to look at a radial brake.

It really does help
Old 07-11-2018, 11:02 AM

I jus shoot smaller rifles fir the past many years - I never did recover fully from my neck/ shoulder damage
Cat
Old 07-11-2018, 11:48 AM

Also just about at the 70 age, I do what Cat say's just shoot smaller calibers, and or don't shoot at all. The last few years have been, 2 or 3 shots just to check that stuff that has not changed for 50 years + or - and has not developed a desire to change.

3" high at 100 and good to go for all of my rifles to about 300 and aim for the big part behind shoulder. That's worked for the 50 years.

Not shooting, just me n dogs is more n more prevalent in my bird outings.

That said the prairie moose last fall, did not like the, 140 gr. TTSX in 7mmRM again in the big part. During the harvest did not notice noise or recoil.

Where the recoil get me now is on the skeet range, I'm taking up loading 3/4 oz. 12's that just barely dribble out of end of barrel!! When all the old supplies are gone, back to 20ga, n light shells.
Old 07-11-2018, 12:20 PM