Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Trapping Discussion

Old 02-23-2012, 11:14 PM

Default Trapping Supply Stores

Hello Everybody,

I am new to the trapping world, can anybody recommend any supply stores in Calgary or Red Deer? Do they have any used items?

Thanks!
Old 02-24-2012, 07:12 AM
Banned

Wolverine Sports in Red Deer advertises trapping supplies but I don't know what their stock of supplies includes. I order my stuff from Don Gordon of KD Ventures in Saskatchewan. He is the President of the Sask. Trappers Association and runs a first class operation. Just google KD Ventures and there will be a contact number etc..
Old 02-24-2012, 07:59 AM

I buy a lot from Halfords in Edmonton. Shipping is free on orders over $100.

They are a bit expensive but have good service, selection, are they are fast.
Old 02-24-2012, 08:30 AM

Halfords has a store in Calgary.....but I've only been to the one in Edmonton, so I'm not sure what the Calgary version stocks.
Old 02-24-2012, 09:03 AM
Banned

Call 1 800 353 7864 and they will send you a catologue.
Old 02-24-2012, 12:11 PM

Default Halford's

I've been using Halford's in edmonton for a few years now, mainly because they usually have the stuff when I need it, and it is shipped fast. I pretty much quit stopping in at the ATA for trapping supplies. Most trips they don't have all that I want and I have to go elswhere anyhow.
I did find that Halfords had a bad batch of snare wire this year, which makes for lousey working snares. If that keeps up, I'm off to another supplier.
Old 02-24-2012, 12:36 PM

I try to buy most of my stuff local,but i end up getting a lot of stuff from F&t fur harvesters some stuff they are way cheaper.
Old 02-24-2012, 12:50 PM

Halfords catalogue is online, as well......
Old 02-24-2012, 01:00 PM