Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 12-29-2016, 12:58 AM

Default Standard Beginner Post

Hi all,

So, I've been out with a few friends and done enough to catch the fever that is hunting and, more specifically, bow hunting. What I do know in my limited experience is that I can kill, gut, skin and process game and not get the least bit queasy. So that's out of the way.

That said, I'm a full blown beginner and I've only shot a few different bows, but I'm convinced I'm hooked on the analysis, pre-season and time commitment required.

My first question is (and Google failed me on this) what needs to be done to bow hunt in Alberta after doing your PAL and AHEIA (both of which I've done). I'm told PAL may not even be required.

Secondly and lastly, the Alberta public land ranges seem vast and complicated. Not at all asking for sweet spots, but wondering if there are any folks out there willing to share general info on how a beginner hunter should analyze all the resources and WMUs in order to determine where to go set a cam and possibly hunt.

I know this is laughable for most of you on this forum, but I appreciate your insight!

St
Old 12-29-2016, 06:37 AM

Location?
Win card
Get a bow that is fit properly (good deals right now!)
Shoot it lots.
Start looking for land to hunt now. Make contact with land owners and ask permission to look for antler sheds. Good way to learn animal habits. Its a good way to ease in to hunting land. If you show respect for land owners and their property!
Good luck.
Brad
Old 12-29-2016, 07:39 AM

Location: At the end of the Thirsty Beaver Trail, Pinsky lake, Alberta.

Go to an archery shop, find a bow that fits you and your budget, ask lots of questions there, like minded people hang out in places like that.
Get a win card, once you have sourced out an area of interest google earth that area, check for natural funnels, water etc and most importantly get out ther and recce it.