Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 11-26-2016, 01:23 PM

Question Biggest surprise fly for past open water season?

Just wondering if anyone tried new fly styles and was completely surprised by the results.
For me it was a tequila booby.......that weird little concoction is deadly at times! I had never fished any type of booby before and the takes were quite aggressive.
Old 11-26-2016, 03:30 PM

I had great success with this Chironomid pattern at Bullhead this spring.

https://goo.gl/photos/Ve9fFXmaBEugvb1k6
Old 11-26-2016, 04:43 PM

I have never tried using a booby before. Did not make sense to me before I reading an article a few minutes ago that explained the way to fish them and how they move in the water. Will try this year.
Old 11-27-2016, 12:02 AM

I first really started fishing a booby this year, had them for at least 4 yrs now, intended to use on bass originally,but, haven't been out that way in about that long. So, I tried them in Manitoba this year, worked really well for me on the tiger trout in Twin, on a washing line setup. Another one I hadn't tied before,or used, were the balanced leeches, was impressed with those.
I liked the way the buzzer style chironomids performed, they sank nicely, unweighted, and did the job. I also did some micro-leeches on #14 & 16 hooks that worked well.
Old 11-27-2016, 07:18 AM

I started using a sex dungeon trailed by a smaller minnow pattern with full sink line on "warm water" species like walleye. Found out it works just as great on them as it does for trout.
I mean I haven't been surprised by certain patterns this year, but by different techniques.
Old 11-27-2016, 04:07 PM