Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 12-12-2020, 05:05 PM

Default Continually Twisting Peep Sight

I am having significant difficulty with the peep sight on a new-ish Mathews Traverse; writing this post to help me think through the issue and solicit advise from more experienced archers and bowyer hunters on this fourm.

I have been shooting an early 2000s Hoyt for the past 19 years or so; whilst it still works well I decided to capitalize on the nearly two decades of advancements in archery technology. 85% let-off is much nicer than the 60% my older Hoyt sports indeed!

The issue is the peep sight continually twists on the Traverse
While I know this is typically due to string stretch, the bow is well shot-in at this point and I have difficulty in believing that the factory strings are still stretching and by this much.

I have tried different styles of peeps (both fletcher and the old school tube system). Even the tube system cannot keep it straight.

I have not tried the tri-slot style, but suspect that I will just end up with it twisting on me and having a strand in the middle of my sight picture.

I have had the D-Loop moved around, retightened, replaced and enlarged as well as replaced and made smaller in a bid to resolve this with no sucess. I have chased that D-Loop all over that string and it only resolves the alignment for a dozen shots at best.

I do not believe that the centre serving is separated and twisting on the string but it perhaps could be possible?

I had my bow shop of choice put a twist in the string – did not resolve the matter. Could try more twists I suppose?

I do not believe that it is the bow itself – I mean I know everyone has their own opinions about bows but the bow felt very natural for me so went with it.

This being said with all the issues I am having I regret not getting the carbon Hoyt or Bowtech BT MagX I was looking at along with this bow.