Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Trapping Discussion

Old 12-06-2014, 05:52 PM
Banned

Default Using Lures

Other than to use "Bread and Butter" scent on a QTip for muskrats I have no experience with using lure whatsoever. Yesterday I picked up some Forsyth Coyote Delight for coyotes, and some Weasel Lure for my weasel boxes. I've also kept 3 hind quarters from weasels for the musk scent. Tonight I'm going to research using the lures but I'd be interested in any tips or tricks that I won't find in the manual or on the internet.

The coyote lure should be pretty simple with just smearing some on a tree, but how much to use?

Where do I want to put the weasel lure, inside of the box or outside, and how much is enough?

Things have slowed down for me since the last snowfall so I figured that I ought to change things up a bit. There are a lot of weasels where I'm snaring but when it gets cold and the bait freezes, I haven't had any luck. I pulled my weasel boxes because they got buried in the snow but I'd like to get them back out there tomorrow. Thanks all!
Old 12-06-2014, 08:40 PM

I'd be interested to hear what the more experienced guys have to say on this subject as well. I've got some Forsyth coyote call to try.
Old 12-06-2014, 08:47 PM