Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Trapping Discussion

Old 11-26-2014, 09:08 PM

Default Sick coyotes??

I'm fairly new to trapping and have a question. Out of 16 coyotes I've snared 2 had mange to the point of missing guard hairs and big bald patches, the other 2 just had small patches of matted fur on the thighs with missing guard hair. How much is too much? Is it worth skinning if there is any signs of mange? Just wondering if there is a guide line or something.

Thanks..
Old 11-26-2014, 09:22 PM

If my coyotes had a little bit of red belly but no missing hair, my fur buyer didn't dock me anything. Once they start loosing fur, my buyer said he wouldn't take them.
Old 11-26-2014, 09:28 PM

I chucked one today. It was a mess. No hair on its entire hind, gaunt, bloody festering sores all over. It didn't even look like a coyote. Out of 25 coyotes I've only had one other that had pink belly...no missing hair though
Old 11-26-2014, 09:30 PM

What about matting? If I try to brush it out, it might end up bald.
Old 11-26-2014, 09:57 PM

Any sign of mange or matting etc and I chuck them - don't want to be touching any of that stuff!
Old 11-26-2014, 10:13 PM

i was in Manitoba over the weekend and a trapper told me had 11 but only skinned 2 due to mange and talked about another problem were the guard hairs were being destroyed
sounds like mother nature thinning out the herd
Old 11-26-2014, 10:20 PM
Banned

I've caught a couple that had little to no hair in between the back legs/lower belly area but nothing as bad as what you are describing. Other than that, the rest of the pelt looked good on them so I'm sending them in and I'll take what I can get. When I started last year I sent in a few bad yotes that I should have never bothered with. I got a whopping $1 for one of them but they all sold.